Friday, October 30, 2009

The weekend away to Dundrum House in Tipperary had it all! Golf played in glorious sunshine, good food, entertainment, and great craic!

Some members played Friday to check out the course ..... and decided that definitely a woman would win as there was a “great advantage” from the ladies tee box. So the book was opened! Caps Field was playing great lately – very focussed, Ann Daly is always the one to beat... Mary Deegan is very steady and Ita McCarron is improving with every outing ... Yes, there was keen interest on Saturday’s competition!

I went out there feeling optimistic, with the “great advantage” thing in my head. It was on the second hole that I realised, although a lovely place, it was just like a forest with huge bunkers and skinny fairways. I negotiated my way around the trees, streams and bunkers, and wondered about the origin of it being a course for the ladies.... It was tough. The best of our golfers were challenged and enjoyed it immensely!

As for the betting; Ita McCarron rose to the challenge and came second to Paul Murphy. Well done Ita and Paul!

Results Dundrum 20th June 2009
1st Paul Murphy
2nd Ita McCarron
Cat 1 Brendan Daly
Cat 2 John Field
Cat 3 Michael Horan
Cat 4 Liam Kelly
Front 9 Dick Shaw
Back 9 Ciaran Curley
2’s Club: Paul Murphy & Dick Shaw

Sunday’s Scramble Winners: Jimmy Kelly, Roy Clarke and Rena Murphy

Michael Horan, Paul Murphy

Mary & Tommy Deegan

Next Outing – President’s Prize Baltinglass 8th August

Tommy Deegan is this years President of BME GS. Tommy is a former Captain and served on committee for many years, always giving of his time and expertise with enthusiasm! Being a very popular local, we expect big numbers to play this outing. Dinner and prize giving will follow the golf at Baltinglass Golf Club. Tommy’s wife, Mary, is Lady Captain in Baltinglass, so it will be an extra special occasion!

Tee time 11:45 to 14:30. Bus will be organised for the home journey. Details along with the Time Sheet now up in Paddy’s.

Aisling Duggan, Jacinta O’Rourke, Kay Kavanagh

Gavin Daly, James McCarron

Results Naas 3rd July 2009
1st Niall Carroll
2nd John Flynn
3rd Peter Barrett
Gross Conor Fallon
Cat 1 Shay McGrath
Cat 2 Pat Curley
Cat 3 Micheal McGrath
Cat 4 John Hubbard
Front 9 Tommy Deegan (ESB)
Back 9 Mick Lawler
Visitors Prize Frank Malone
2’s Club: Niall Carroll, Tony Hanlon, Dick Shaw

Well done lads!! The women were working for this one!!?

No comments: