Wednesday, December 30, 2009


Fr McGowan, Michael Horan (Captain), Jay Curley, Ciaran Curley

Kilkea Castle Golf Club was Captain’s choice of venue for the main event of the golfing year. It was no surprise that big numbers turned up for this outing - it is a great golf course with super facilities and it is close to home.

Golf conditions were perfect. There were some good scores in, but first prize went to a very popular new member, John Hubbard. Congratulations to John – they say “he’s a natural, one to watch”!!

The dinner and prize giving followed that evening at the golf club. Michael & Mary were welcomed, like newly weds, into the dining room to rapturous applause!!! Michael walked the walk, Mary gave her distinctive giggle, you know the one you giggle along with! The confidence and good humour that they exude was in the air – everyone was there to enjoy themselves! And so we did, ‘till the early hours...

The entire day went really well, and full credit goes to Michael Horan. There is a lot involved in organising this outing and making it such a success. So thanks to Michael for all the hard work, for his enthusiasm, and for the great year, (so far), we have had under his captaincy! It’s the kind of stuff that makes our Golf Society one of the best!

John Hubbard – Captain’s Prize Winner

Winner John Hubbard
Runner up Michael Murphy Third Tom Smith
Best Gross Jay Curley

Catagory 1 1st Johnny Murphy
2nd Simon Murphy
3rd Ciaran Curley

Catagory 2 1st Peter O Connor
2nd Pat Curley
3rd Michael Bradshaw

Catagory 3 1st Tommy Deegan
2nd Mick Horan
3rd John Murphy jnr

Catagory 4 1st Liam Kelly
2nd Ita McCarron
3rd Steve Deegan

Front 9 Gavin Daly 20 pts
Back 9 Moira Hannon 20 pts
Longest drive: Nuala Byrne, Gavin Daly
Nearest pin Michael Murphy
Past Captains Prize Dick Shaw
Visitors prize Denis Kenny
2's club Liam Kelly,Brendan Daly,Micheal Mcgrath,Michael Murphy,Jay Curley,Peter O Connor,Gavin Daly.

Sinead and Gavin Daly

Tom Cantwell, Michael Horan, Lilly Hickey, Alan Cowley

Captain’s Cup
This annual competition between Ballymore GS, Blessington GS, Tudor Inn GS, West Wicklow GS and Poulaphuca GS took place on Sunday 27th Sept. Blessington GS won this year with a cumulative score of 331, narrowly beating Ballymore GS on 329. Congratulations to all who took part:
Team Manager Markey Doyle,
Ciaran Curley, Michael Horan, Pat Curley, Dick Shaw, John Murphy jnr, Gavin Daly, Niall Carroll, James McCarron, Jay Curley, and Michael Murphy,

Very special guests at Captain’s Dinner: Eileen Murphy and Bridie Horan

No comments: